2017 RPAC Supported Candidates

Annually, the REALTORS® Political Action Committee (RPAC) trustees spend days upon days fundraising, but the most important responsibility the trustees have is evaluating the many candidates in Cuyahoga and Summit Counties to determine whether or not they (the candidates) are REALTOR® Party champions worthy of RPAC support. To achieve this, the Trustees evaluate each political candidate’s position on REALTOR® Party issues only, his/her agenda, and electability to determine which campaigns are supported. RPAC is nonpartisan in its selection of candidates. The local Trustees make recommendations to our state and national associations on candidates at those levels as well.

The RPAC trustees are appointed annually by the Board President to make RPAC decisions. They span the region and are extremely supportive of our advocacy efforts.

Recently, the trustees of ACAR’s RPAC met over the course of 3 days to review a plethora of General Election campaigns in both Summit County and Cuyahoga County.

A few statistics about the candidate review process:

  • 108 – Number of questionnaires distributed
  • 51 – Number of candidates reviewed
  • 20 – Number of hours spent on interviews and deliberations
  • $65,650 – Dollars invested in local Realtor Party Champion campaigns in 2017 (to date)

The following candidates/campaigns are receiving RPAC support for the General Election. No candidates were endorsed by the Akron Cleveland Association of Realtors. A link to each person’s campaign is included where available.

  • Akron Clerk of Courts – Jeff Fusco
  • Beachwood Mayor – Martin Horwitz
  • Brook Park Mayor – Tom Coyne
  • Brook Park Council At Large – Carl Burgio (REALTOR®)
  • Brook Park Council At Large – Rick Salvatore
  • Cleveland Mayor – Frank Jackson
  • Cleveland Council, Ward 1 – Terrell Pruitt
  • Cleveland Council, Ward 10 – Anthony Hairston
  • Cleveland Council, Ward 13 – Kevin Kelley
  • Cleveland Council, Ward 15 – Matt Zone
  • Cleveland Municipal Court, Housing Division – Ronald O’Leary
  • Cuyahoga Falls Mayor – Don Walters
  • Cuyahoga Falls, Ward 8 – Russ Iona (ACAR Member)
  • Euclid Council, President – Charlene Mancuso
  • Euclid Council, Ward 8 – Laura Gorshe
  • Garfield Heights Mayor – Vic Collova
  • Middleburg Heights Mayor – Gary Starr
  • Munroe Falls Council At Large – Jim Iona (REALTOR®)
  • Olmsted Falls Mayor – Ann Marie Donegan
  • Parma City School District Board of Education – Steve Vaughn
  • Parma City School District Board of Education – John Schweitzer
  • Parma City School District Board of Education – Amanda Karpus
  • Parma Council, Ward 1 – Vito Dipierro (REALTOR®)
  • Parma Heights Mayor – Michael Byrne
  • Stow Council At Large – Brian D’Antonio
  • Stow Council At Large – John Pribonic
  • Stow Council At Large – Mike Rasor
  • Stow Council, Ward 3 – Christina Shaw
  • University Heights Mayor – Susan Infeld
  • Westlake Mayor – Dennis Clough

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *