How to be a REALTOR®
Becoming a REALTOR® in the State of Ohio
To be a REALTOR®, you must first receive your real estate license.
In order to obtain a real estate sales license in the state of Ohio you must:
- Be honest, truthful and of good reputation.
- Be at least eighteen (18) years of age.
- Have a high school diploma or its equivalent.
- Not have been convicted of a felony or crime of moral turpitude or violated any civil rights laws regarding real estate within the past two years. (If you have any questions regarding this requirement, you should directly contact the Ohio Division of Real Estate at 614-466-4100.)
- Complete the following classroom hours (total classroom hours required to sit for the state sales exam are 120):
- 40 hours in Principles and Practices of Real Estate
- 40 hours in Real Estate Law
- 20 hours in Real Estate Finance
- 20 hours in Real Estate Appraisal
After successfully passing the state exam, you will receive your real estate sales license. Within one year of licensure, you must complete the 10-hour sales post licensing course.
Once you have received your license you can begin to sell real estate. In order to call yourself a REALTOR, you must go one step further.
The word REALTOR® is a trademarked name of the National Association of REALTORS® and only members of the association may call themselves a REALTOR®. A REALTOR® is a licensed real estate professional who chooses to voluntarily subscribe to a strict Code of Ethics that is above and beyond the law.
Once you have become a REALTOR®, you can start receiving all of the benefits of being a member of your local, state and national association.
For more information on how to become a REALTOR®, call (216) 901-0130.