2015 RPAC Supported Candidates

Annually, the REALTORS Political Action Committee (RPAC) trustees spend days upon days fundraising, but the most important responsibility the trustees have is evaluating the many candidates in Cuyahoga and Summit Counties to determine whether or not they (the candidates) are REALTOR Party champions worthy of RPAC support. To achieve this, the Trustees evaluate each political candidate’s position on REALTOR Party issues only, his/her agenda, and electability to determine which campaigns are supported. RPAC is nonpartisan in its selection of candidates. The local Trustees make recommendations to our state and national associations on candidates at those levels as well.

The RPAC trustee are appointed annually by the Board President to make RPAC decisions. They span the region and are extremely supportive of our advocacy efforts.

Recently, the trustees of ACAR’s RPAC met over the course of 4 days to review a plethora of General Election campaigns in both Summit County and Cuyahoga County.  A few statistics about the candidate review process:

  • 106 – Number of questionnaires were distributed
  • 52 – Number of candidates reviewed
  • 26 – Number of hours spent on interviews and deliberations
  • $43,000 – Dollars invested in Realtor Party Champion campaigns in 2015 (to date)

The following candidates/campaigns are receiving RPAC support for the General Election. No candidates were endorsed by the Akron Cleveland Association of Realtors.

Cuyahoga County

Beachwood, Council at Large – Brian Linick

Brecksville, Mayor – Jerry Hruby

Broadview Heights, Mayor – Sam Alai

Brook Park, Council Ward 1 – Danny Colonna

Cleveland Heights, Council at Large* – Julie Love, Tas Nadas, Kahlil Seren (*Voters select up to 3 candidates)

Euclid, Mayor – Kirsten Holzheimer Gail

Highland Heights, Mayor – Scott Coleman

Independence, Mayor – Jim Crooks

Lakewood, Mayor – Michael Skindell

Maple Heights, Mayor – Annette M. Blackwell

Mayfield Village, Mayor – Stephen Jerome

Newburgh Heights, Mayor – Trevor Elkins

North Royalton, Mayor – Robert Stefanik

Parma, Mayor – Tim DeGeeter

Parma, Council Ward 1 – Vito Dipierro

South Euclid, Mayor – Georgine Welo

Strongsville, Mayor – Tom Perciak


Summit County

Akron, Mayor – Daniel Horrigan

Akron, Council Ward 8 – Marilyn Keith

Akron, Council at Large* – Jeff Fusco, Linda Omobien, Cynthia Blake (*Voters select up to 3 candidates)

Cuyahoga Falls, Council Ward 8 – Russ Iona

Cuyahoga Falls – Issue 12

Green, Mayor – Gerard Neugebauer

Macedonia, Mayor – Joe Migliorini

Norton, Mayor – Mike Zita

Tallmadge, Mayor – Dave Kline

Twinsburg, Mayor – Ted Yates

Twinsburg, Council Ward 3 – Jo-Ann McFearin

Stow, Mayor – Sara Drew



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *