ACAR Announces Award Winners and Board of Directors Election Results

By Kelli Moss posted 10-03-2019 15:31


IMG_4206.jpgOn Wednesday, October 2nd, ACAR held its annual Who’s Who Annual Meeting and Meet the Candidates event at LockKeepers Restaurant in Independence.  With nearly 150 members, politicians and guests in attendance, the event was a major success.

It was a night of awards and elections starting with The J. Howard Battle Equal Opportunity in Housing Award. This award recognizes a recipient who has devoted themselves to fair housing initiatives in our region.  This year’s recipient is Senator Nickie Antonio.  The Senator could not be present at the event so she will receive her award at the ACAR Inaugural on January 9th, 2020.

Next up was the Good Neighbor award.  The Good Neighbor identifies and recognizes REALTORS® who have made an extraordinary impact on their community, on the national or world stage, through charitable and volunteer work.  The recipient receives a $1,000 donation to the charity of their choice from the Real Estate Community Cares Fund.  This year’s recipient of this prestigious honor was Tony DeLuke.

The Young Professionals were next in line to be recognized.  The Young Professional Award is granted to ACAR members under the age of 40 years old who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and professional qualities.  Although three recipients may be chosen – this year, 2 recipients were selected and those outstanding young professionals were Michelle Green (seen on the the cover with ACAR President, Judy Gorbett Darwal) and Mark Vittardi. 

Of course, we can’t forget about our affiliates.  The Affiliate of the Year award went to Beth Dzurilla of Mutual Title Agency.  Beth  is a quiet, steadfast supporter of ACAR serving actively on several committees and volunteering.

For the final presentation of the night, 2019 ACAR President, Judy Gorbett Darwal presented the most coveted and prestigious award of all, REALTOR® of the Year.  The 2019 recipient of this award was John Lynch.

After the conclusion of the award presentations, the results of the election for the ACAR Board of Directors were announced.  The three REALTOR® members winning positions on the ACAR Board of Directors were, Anthony May, Steve Spinnelli and Maureen “Mo” Wlodarczyk.  The Commercial REALTOR® Director elected was Akil Hameed and the Affiliate Director was Courtney DeMarco.  It was also announced that Issue #1 - To approve Bylaws amendment was passed.

Thank you to all who attended, but most especially to our sponsors:  VIP Presenting Sponsor, Third Federal Savings; Supporting Partners Assad & Crea Realty Group and Ohio Real Title; and Friend Sponsor ReMAX Crossroads. Events like these are not possible without the generous support of our sponsors and we are truly grateful.

Be sure to click on the link HERE to view all of the great photos from this event!